Across the world

He sat next to the window inside Starbucks. He fits right into my anticipation. I quickly pushed open the door and turned to the corner.

“Hi!”

“Hey!” His face is big and the dark sunglasses keeps reminding me of his background — law enforcement. But he grinned.

“Nice to meet you.” I exchanged.

“My pleasure.” He spoke the words slowly, which begun with a smile and ended with a steady gaze. Such genuine sincerity fits a druid better than a policeman. Well, he is an Asatru.

When I finally brought my breakfast to the table, he has taken off his sunglasses. Somehow I already suspected he would have friendly eyes, even a bit feminine with distinctive, light-colored lashes.

“It is what it is.” He said of Hsinchu, of the pagan community here, of some bizarre pagan exaggeration, and the isolation he is living.

After an hour, we went back to the sun. He put on his cool sunglasses again and laughed broadly.

“It is great to really meet you.” A firm handshake. He climbed up the footbridge to get to his scooter.

 

Leave a Reply

